Our Littlest Lady is Two!

by ten7sixblog

ten7six, infant photographer, newborn photographer

Sooooo, she actually turned two a few days ago (the 25th), but our weekend was  uber-busy due to lots of things, but mainly, we did a big birthday to-do for both of our girls yesterday. You may remember that our oldest just turned four a few weeks back, so for now, while we can, we do a big, huge combo party. It takes a bit of planning and preparation, but that’s something I love to do, so it ends up being a lot of fun to put it all together. Anyway, moving on to more about the second birthday of one of my favorite girls…

Right after she was born, while she was still lying on my chest, the doctor said to both of the nurses in the labor and delivery room, “oh my God, come look at this.” They both go over and look at what the doctor is looking at and they all  start saying things like “oh wow…oh my…we really dodged a bullet.” As it would turn out, these are not comforting words to hear right after you deliver a baby. My husband was not feeling the warm and fuzzies, either, and he said “what’s going on?” And they showed him. Evidently, they discovered something called Velementous Cord Insertion. You can read more about here, but essentially it means that the umbilical cord connects to the fetal membranes as opposed to in the center of the placenta. In terms of risk, the short and not-so-sweet of it is that both my baby girl and I could have died. In all likelihood, if they had found it on ultrasound prior to her birth, I would have had a c-section so as to negate the risk of rupture. But they didn’t find it and so I didn’t have a c-section and I thank my lucky stars each and every time I look at my sweet baby girl that nothing went wrong during delivery and she’s here with us, happy and healthy as can be.

In these last two years with her, we have learned that she and her sister are as different as day and night. I don’t know why I thought they would be similar. I guess because they’re both girls and they both share equal amounts of our dna…I just figured they would be two peas in a pod. And in a sense they are, because they get along so well, but in terms of the little people they are becoming, they are quite different. The youngest is rather quiet and shy. It takes her four times as long as it takes her sister to warm up to a new situation. She is my little clingy monkey. She wants to be by my side, or better yet, held by me until she feels comfortable. I pretend not to like it and I do my best to “get her feet wet,” but in reality, I love it. I know, any day now, she’s going to gain her independence and focus her energy on playing with her sister and her friends, and not on trying to attach herself to me. So while she still wants me and only me, I’ll let her have me.

A few other things we’ve learned about her over her two years: she loves animals and she really loves dogs. She searches them out and gently loves on them. It’s very sweet. She’s also incredibly funny. You wouldn’t know it based off of the shy front she puts on, but she regularly has all giggling at the dinner table. She gives the best hugs. Each morning, when my husband leaves, she doesn’t just give him a hug, she does a running start down the hall way and leaps into his arms. In short (sort of…), she’s perfect and we are just as infatuated and in love with her now as we were when we were first getting to know her two years ago…

Here are a few photos from her year of being one :

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photograher, denver child portrait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photographer, denver child portrait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photograher, denver child portrait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photograher, denver child portrait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photograher, denver child portrait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photograher, denver child portrait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photograher, denver child portrait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photograher, denver child portrait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photograher, denver child portrait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photograher, denver child portrait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photograher, denver child portrait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

Happy birthday, sweet Lady L. We all love you very much and so look forward to watching you become you for many years to come.

xoxo,

Mom and Dad

