Our Oldest Turns 4 Today!

by ten7sixblog

4 years ago today, I was sitting on a big ball thinking about how well they possibly could have disinfected that big ball after all the other pregnant-as-a-house ladies had been doing on it exactly what I had been doing on it. I thought about how many waters had broken on it and if they could even reuse them after that point. I figure if someone’s water broke all over the ball, that’s when it’s probably time to replace said ball. I relaxed my germophobia long enough to sit there for what felt like (and probably was) hours upon hours since the ball was the only place I could sit without feeling like I had million industrial clamps working away at my abdomen. On the ball, it only felt like 1000. Anyway, after what was only 8 minutes short of 24 hours of labor, a very minor scare, the husband and I were handed an absolutely perfect 7lb 9oz baby girl. Here she is the night she was born:

ten7six

We weren’t able to hold her for what felt like forever. After such a brutally long time spent trying to work her way through the birth canal, she was in shock. She didn’t cry and they whisked her away pretty quickly. They kept her in the room, but they kept her away from me so they could monitor her. After she finally let out some good bellows and was registering well on whatever they had her hooked up to, they handed her over and I could not have been a more happy brand new mommy. Here we are the next day:

From the very start she was incredibly alert. She didn’t want to miss a thing. She’s still like that. She loves life and will risk utter exhaustion in order to participate in any and every thing. It’s one of the many attributes we adore about her. She has such an amazing zest for life. We feel so incredibly fortunate to have her in our family.

I could share thousands upon thousands of pictures of her and her life to this point, instead, I’ll just share some of her over the last year.

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photographer, denver child photographer, colorado portrait photographer

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photographer, denver child portrait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

ten7six, denver photographer, colorado photographer, denver child portait photographer, colorado child portrait photographer

ten7six

ten7six

ten7six

ten7six

ten7six

ten7six

ten7six

ten7six

ten7six

ten7six

Ms. P: Happy birthday, you blue-eyed beauty. Your enthusiasm and spirit are contagious. How lucky we are that we get to experience all that is you each and every day. We love you!!

– Mom and Dad

