Picture of the Day: Day 97, Completely Random

by ten7sixblog

Yesterday, I was chatting with one of the lovely soon-to-bride’s of one of the weddings we have booked this year, and it once again made me realize how excited I am to photograph weddings. Photographing events is fun, yes, but it doesn’t have the same feel as a wedding. There’s just not as much love floatin’ around. As far as I am concerned, though, and I’m definitely not one to rush things, September cannot get here soon enough!

And now, I have to share a funny random story related to this: when I was in New Jersey visiting one of my most favorite people in this world, we were sitting on her friend’s front porch talking and she found out that I had never seen a psychic before, she insisted that I go talk to the one she had seen the day before who was on the boardwalk at Bradley Beach. I was all about it, so down to the boardwalk we walked. It was my first psychic experience and it was a lot of fun. He told me all sorts of things that really were spot-on, but this one particular thing is pretty interesting….so, it was at this time that The Business Partner and I were *just* starting to talk about a photography/design business. I mean, we hadn’t hashed out much, we were very much in the preliminary stages of getting this all figured out. Anyway, so I go see this psychic and he and I start talking about work and my thoughts on the business and he says, “and you’re going to photograph weddings” and I said, “oh no, I don’t want to do weddings.” And I really didn’t. I was going to stick to babies and children and families and dogs and basically just portrait work. He looks at me, smiles, and says “no, you’re going to be doing weddings. I see celebrations – big celebrations – and you’ll do the other stuff too, but you will be photographing weddings” I disagreed again but said, “ok, we’ll see.” Turns out he was right.

So that’s my bit of randomness for the day. Unfortunately, I didn’t get too many photos at Bradley Beach. Darn. I’ll have to go back. But I got a few. Here’s one:

ten7six, Bradley Beach, New Jersey

– Abbi

