Picture of the Day: Day 53, Hands

by ten7sixblog

ten7six

Last year this time, I was planning a trip to go see one of my very favorite people. She lives in New Jersey. Her name is Michele. And she is incredible. This is one of the photos I love most from my visit with her. If you did not know her and you were walking up her front walk and saw this, you would not think much of these three pairs of prints. You may even walk right over them without even noticing them at all. After all, loads of people put hand prints into wet cement. But if you are lucky enough to know her, this image of these three hand prints would likely stay with you forever. The reason? The amazing little being who made those tiny hand prints at the bottom left had to leave this place to take on something bigger elsewhere. His name is Myles. And though I never had the pleasure of meeting him in person, I feel like I have gotten do know him through his mother. His mother who graciously shares him through videos and pictures and stories. Myles and his Mom and brother have touched my life in such a deep and meaningful way. They will never truly know the impact they have had on me as a mother and a person. I know I’m not the only one who feels this way. These three people have touched so, so many.

And though I will never be able to reciprocate or thank them in any way that would truly show my gratitude, I’ve can do a teeny, tiny little plug for Michele because, besides being this absolutely incredible person that she is, as it would turn out, she’s also a ridiculously awesome jewelry maker. Her business, The Bitch is Twisted (did I mention she has a great sense of humor, too?), churns out some beautiful pieces of art that happen to double as jewelry. I have a few of her pendants and each and every time I wear them, I’m complimented. They are one of a kind and they are really, really cool. If you are local (CO) and you’re interested in seeing some of them, let me know. I’ve got a few on hand to show off and sell for her. And if you’re not local and you want to check her stuff out, go to her facebook page and peruse. You will not be disappointed.

– Abbi

