A Little Post Production

by ten7sixblog

A little more than two years ago, if you had asked me what my post production process was, I would have told you, “ask Cory.” However, after encountering a moderately easy-to-fix issue with a photo which I was kind of in a hurry to repair and my husband was no where to be found, I decided it was time to work on my Photoshop skillllllz. And now, after a couple of years of education from my very talented (and patient) husband, along with what is likely several hundred Google queries, I have gotten myself to a point where I have a pretty decent working familiarity with Bridge and Photoshop (though, I will be the first to admit that I still have so very much to learn). Now, I am kind of obsessed with post production and love transforming photos with a click here and a drag there (and some times a lot more). So, I thought it’d be fun to show some of that “behind the scenes” work.

Below are two versions of the same photo from a session we did with close family friends in their backyard. The first one is the original and the second is the doctored. Ch-ch-check it out:
ten7six
ten7six

I’m sure, if you look close enough, you can see the changes even without my added circles. Obviously, the color and tone have been upgraded to make things a little warmer and more saturated. And then I worked on getting rid of the house and the tree behind Elliott because I thought they were distracting and when all was said and done, I was so happy with how it came out. That doesn’t mean I think I’m some whiz, or anything, I realize that these are not monumental fixes…though, recreating the fence line was quite the task. And I should also point out that this took me several hours longer than it would have taken my much more Photoshop-adept business partner, but I always get so excited when I’m able to pull off what I consider a pretty decent Photoshop job. Then, I sit for a few minutes and watch Cory work his magic and I realize how I really know very little, but it’s OK, learning is all about the process and the progress, right? And I’m feeling very good about my strides in both. Plus, it’s been so much fun to take my photography education to the next level and I can’t wait to keep on learnin’.

– Abbi

